๐Ÿ‘€My best FETC Conference stuff

Video, slides, resources and more from FETC

๐Ÿ“ง Subscribe for free โ€ข ๐ŸŽง Listen to this as a podcast โ€ข ๐Ÿ—‚ Browse our template library

๐Ÿ’ก Get the best ideas from my FETC sessions

I love attending educator conferences.

But I REALLY love getting to bring great stuff back to you!

Below, youโ€™ll find video, slides, a resource document, and more from my popular session, โ€œ10 AI-Based Upgrades to Teaching and Learning.โ€

Want to get ideas from my other SEVEN sessions at FETC? Check out my FETC resources page. All of the buttons are (finally!) active with helpful resources.

Iโ€™ll keep sharing good stuff throughout the week.

Plus, more good news โ€ฆ Iโ€™ll attend the TCEA Conference in Austin, Texas, in less than two weeks. Iโ€™ll bring you more good stuff from that, too!

Inside:

  • ๐ŸŽ™๏ธ Book me: The AI for Educators Workshop

  • ๐Ÿ‘€ DTT Digest: Digital Learning Day, Pear Deck, and more

  • ๐Ÿ’ก The Big Idea: 10 AI upgrades to teaching and learning

  • ๐ŸŽฏ Quick Teaching Strategy: Finding (and using) diverse images

  • ๐Ÿ˜„ Smile of the day

  • ๐Ÿ‘‹ How we can help

๐ŸŽ™๏ธ Book me: The AI for Educators Workshop

How do we make the most of AI in school? How do we get it right โ€” and help prepare students for the future?

My AI for Educators Workshop gives teachers hands-on practice โ€” and space to discuss the tough topics AI has confronted us with.

  • Practical teaching ideas to use right away

  • Effective time-savers for teachers

  • Solutions and discussion about academic integrity and AI

  • How to prepare students for an AI future

  • Perspective from my own classroom this year

Interested? Iโ€™m fully booked through May. There are a few openings this summer, and a few more during back-to-school time.

Spots fill up quickly. No harm in getting some details now, right? Email [email protected] for pricing, availability and details.

DTT Digest

4 teaching resources worth checking out today

  • ๐Ÿ’ปDigital Learning Day is 2/15 โ€” This year Digital Learning Day is celebrated on February 15th and this year they are spotlighting the incredible educators across the nation who are harnessing the power of digital learning tools. Want to get in on the celebration? We will be sharing resources all week (including the ones below) so keep checking back.

  • ๐Ÿ‘จ๐Ÿพโ€๐Ÿ’ปGet free Digital Learning Day Lessons โ€” Google Applied Digital Skills has 15 lessons in their DLD collection that you can start using today. Each lesson contains videos, a lesson plan, a rubric and a certificate of completion. Use #AppliedDigitalSkills and #DLDay hashtags on social media for a chance to be featured!

  • ๐Ÿ‘‹ Meet Pear Deck Learning! โ€” Pear Deck has combined, and rebranded, their suite of educational tools to better suit your needs in the classroom. Pear Deck Learning now features Pear Assessment, Pear Deck, Pear Practice, and Pear Deck Tutor.

  • ๐Ÿ Want to use Pear Deck in your class? Hereโ€™s how.โ€” Pear Deck flips the traditional lecture by actively engaging students in real-time. Ask questions. Students answer. Check out our post (link above), 20 ways to use Pear Deck to engage students.

๐Ÿ’ก THE BIG IDEA ๐Ÿ’ก

๐Ÿ“ˆ 10 AI-based upgrades to teaching and learning

I spent most of last week at the Future of Educational Technology Conference (FETC) in Orlando, Florida.

(Tough gig, but someone has to do it. โ˜€๏ธ๐ŸŒด)

As a featured speaker, I presented EIGHT sessions -- and this one was probably the most memorable.

It was a MEGA session, presented on the same mainstage as the keynotes.

It was a brand new session -- 10 AI-Based Upgrades to Teaching and Learning.

I knew I had to share it with you.

Here are four resources you can access right away โ€ฆ

๐Ÿ“บ 1. I recorded video of it.

(Warning: I had a really good lapel mic for my phone that I expected to use. It didnโ€™t work. ๐Ÿ˜ซ So the video is recorded with the mic in my phone. Not ideal. Plus, the room has lots of echo. If you canโ€™t hear it and the audio is bad, promise me ... no mean YouTube comments about the audio โ€ฆ deal?)

๐Ÿ“ƒ 2. I created a resources document for it.

It's the same document the attendees got, full of AI prompts you can copy and try out right away.

THIS is really the best place to get a quick overview of the session and try out ideas immediately.

๐Ÿ–ฅ๏ธ 3. I shared the slides for it.

You can get a quick overview of the 10 upgrades in the slides.

๐Ÿค– 4. I demonstrated lots of the prompts.

I dragged a web browser with Google Bard onto the big screen several times to live demo the prompts I was suggesting. You can see the exact prompts I typed โ€” and the exact responses Bard gave me.

(PS: Love this presentation? I do presentations like this at schools, districts, and educator conferences. See the workshop info at the top of this email for details!)

๐ŸŽฏ Quick Teaching Strategy

Use diverse images in instructional materials

Photo by Allison Shelley for EDUimages (CC BY-NC 4.0)

We can find images to use in teaching and learning all over the place.

And now, if you canโ€™t find what youโ€™re looking for, you might be able to make that image with artificial intelligence.

The images we choose to use matters.

When we use images that represent a diverse range of people โ€” gender, age, race, etc. โ€” we make different types of people visible to our students.

If we arenโ€™t careful and donโ€™t pay attention, we can reinforce the belief that the only people are people who are like us โ€ฆ and create distance from those that arenโ€™t like us.

Before you share learning resources with students (or teachers), ask yourself โ€ฆ is there space to include a diverse range of people in those resources?

A great place to go for a wide range of diverse images of educators and students is the EDUImages library from All4Ed.

And theyโ€™re all for FREE.

Other places I like to go: Unsplash, Pixabay, PikWizard, and Wunderstock (use the menu at the top to browse).

๐Ÿ˜„ Smile of the day

Of course, we doโ€ฆ straight out of the textbook ๐Ÿ˜‰

h/t Monique Swafford via Teacher Memes Facebook group

๐Ÿ‘‹ How we can help

There are even more ways I can support you in the important work you do in education:

  1. Read one of my six books about meaningful teaching with tech.

  2. Take one of our online courses about practical and popular topics in education.

  3. Bring me to your school, district or event to speak. I love working with educators!

What did you think of today's newsletter?

Choose the best fit for you ...

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.