šŸ’„ I'm blowing up how I grade

Plus AI feedback, winter fun, and more

šŸ’„ I'm blowing up how I grade

Now that Iā€™m back in the classroom teaching high school Spanish, some things are different.

One of them is grading ā€” something I havenā€™t had to actively manage in about eight years.

I read a book recently ā€” The Infinite Game by Simon Sinek ā€” that has me thinking differently about grading and motivation.

Iā€™ll be interested to see what you think ā€¦ after you read it, hit reply and let me know!

Inside:

  • šŸ“™ A readable page-turner about AI in EDU

  • šŸ‘€ DTT Digest: AI feedback, winter poetry, reflection

  • šŸ’” The Big Idea: Why (and how) Iā€™m blowing up how I grade

  • šŸ—„ Template: Fun in the snow activity

  • šŸ˜„ Smile of the day

  • šŸ‘‹ How we can help

šŸ“™ A readable page-turner about AI in EDU

Itā€™s here. Itā€™s changing the way we work. And itā€™s going to change things in the classroom.

Artificial intelligence.

  • What are its implications on the classroom?

  • What about cheating and plagiarism?

  • Where is all of this headed?

Get answers in my book, AI for Educators. Itā€™s a quick, engaging page turner thatā€™ll help you start moving forward.

ā€œMattā€™s timely, honest, and optimistic guide is just what we all need to get started with AI and get excited on how it can be used in the classroom. [ā€¦] I think this guide is timeless because we are always going to need tomorrow glasses!ā€ ā­ā­ā­ā­ā­ (Amazon customer)

PS: We offer bulk order discounts ā€” and we even have book study resources! Email [email protected] for details!

DTT Digest

4 teaching resources worth checking out today

  • šŸ“¢ Improved AI feedback in Curipod ā€” Curipod (curipod.com) has improved its AI feedback slides. Students write and Curipod uses AI to analyze the response and provide real-time feedback. Curipod has several pre-made feedback slides ā€” or you can create your own.

  • ā˜ƒļøWinter poetry video lesson ā€” Explore two ready-to-use video lessons from Edpuzzle. Students can analyze literary elements in "After the Winter" by Claude McKay or ā€œStopping by Woods on a Snowy Eveningā€ by Robert Frost.

  • šŸ’­ Get your youngest learners reflecting on the year ā€” PBS Learning Media has some great resources for our K-2 learners. This downloadable New Year Reflections worksheet has students look back on last year and set goals for the next.

  • ā˜˜ļø Diffit free premium trial extended to March 1 ā€” Diffit allows you to create leveled resources from links, YouTube videos, PDFs, pasted text and more. You can customize the resources with vocabulary, add questions at different DOK levels, and translate them. Then turn your content into ā€œjust rightā€ activities with our library of high-quality, student-ready exports.

šŸ’” THE BIG IDEA šŸ’”

šŸ’„ Why (and how) Iā€™m blowing up how I grade

When I first started teaching, I wanted to make sure that my assessments meant something. Reflected my studentsā€™ skills.

Informal assessments like activities. More formal ones like quizzes and tests. All of it.

They needed to be challenging. Rigorous.

Now?

Thatā€™s all starting to slide down the importance list just a little. (Go with me ā€¦)

I recently read Simon Sinekā€™s book, The Infinite Game.

When he described the difference between ā€œfinite gamesā€ and ā€œinfinite games,ā€ it made me rethink all of this.

ā€œFinite Gamesā€

Sinek calls ā€œfinite gamesā€ those that have a clear set of rules. A winner and/or loser. A defined endpoint. Hence: ā€œfinite.ā€

Think chess. Baseball. Football. Start/finish. Win/lose.

People can take this approach to business. To politics. To life.

Sometimes, classwork can feel like a ā€œfinite game.ā€

Early in my career, I saw all of my assessments ā€” my checks for understanding ā€” more like finite games.

Itā€™s like I was saying, ā€œHereā€™s what I expect. The line in the sand. Get there and you win (aka ā€˜you get the grade.ā€™) Fall short? Well, you fall short.ā€

With a ā€œfinite gameā€ approach, I started to notice a few things ..

  • Some of my students developed an ā€œI canā€™tā€ mentality. It became their identity ā€” ā€œIā€™m not good at Spanish.ā€ After they set that identity, it was hard to get them back.

  • My ā€œfinite gameā€ approach seemed to benefit my strong students the most. It didnā€™t support my struggling students or ā€œmiddleā€ students. It further created a divide.

  • The ā€œfinite gameā€ got some students focused more on collecting points and less on learning.

This wasnā€™t the classroom I wanted.

Then Sinek described ā€œinfinite games.ā€ Wow. THAT was what I was looking for.

I didnā€™t want winners and losers.

I wanted my students and me to keep playing the game.

ā€œInfinite Gamesā€

In ā€œinfinite games,ā€ the players arenā€™t trying to win. They just want to stay in the game. They want to keep playing the game.

Immediately, this approach resonated with me.

It changed how I created assessments, assignments, quizzes and tests.

I wanted to keep ā€œplaying the gameā€ with my struggling students and those in the middle. I knew that if I could keep them engaged and getting repetitions with the content, they would improve.

I didnā€™t want to lose those students to the ā€œIā€™m not good at Spanishā€ identity ā€¦ because I usually couldnā€™t get them back.

So, what did I do?

  • I made all of my assessments a little more accessible. A little less challenging. It didnā€™t mean my students were learning less. I lost less students to the ā€œI canā€™tā€ mentality. Plus, my stronger students ā€” who were more motivated by grades ā€” got what they wanted motivation-wise.

  • With more students feeling the ā€œyes I canā€ mentality, I saw better engagement with in-class practice. I had more students dialed into our in-class practice. Therefore, we got more value out of every class period.

  • With more value out of every class period, the need for homework became less and less. (Personally, I have serious doubts about the effectiveness and return on traditional homework anyway. You can read about that in my book, Ditch That Homework.)

In the end, more of my students have kept playing the game with me ā€” and kept progressing in their skills.

Creating a better game

If making my assessments less challenging made you look at me sideways, thatā€™s OK.

Hereā€™s one more case for it.

Recently, we have more and more students who are just not motivated by traditional grades. Points in a gradebook.

If thatā€™s our main motivation ā€” ā€œdo what I say and youā€™ll get the gradeā€ ā€” that proposition just doesnā€™t work for lots of students.

To be clear: Iā€™m not advocating low standards ā€” or not challenging students.

Iā€™m advocating setting the goal line in a place where students can reach it.

ā€œBut what if the state test sets the goal line farther away than that?ā€

Setting our expectations (our goal line) unreasonably high wonā€™t help students reach them ā€” especially if they stop playing the game. If they give up. If they adopt an ā€œIā€™m not good at thisā€ identity.

Instead, we do what we can to keep them playing the game.

They keep stay engaged because they think ā€œI can.ā€

That way, theyā€™re still progressing.

The infinite game.

The infinite CLASSROOM.

Do what it takes to keep playing the game.

Because the more we play the game, the more our students grow and develop.

šŸ—„ Template

Learn about Canva EDU with this winter activity

Try this 'Fun in the Snow' activity, created by Tisha Richmond, to introduce your students to CanvaEDU!

Have little learners? Build the snowman together step-by-step to demonstrate, then students can create a snow scene on their own. Older students, or those with more experience with Canva, can either choose one or build both on their own.

No Canva? No problem! We downloaded the template into Google Slides for you.

šŸ˜„ Smile of the day

It shouldnā€™t be that hard to rememberā€¦ yet it is.

h/t Monica Lopez via Teacher Memes Facebook group

šŸ‘‹How we can help

There are even more ways I can support you in the important work you do in education:

  1. Read one of my six books about meaningful teaching with tech.

  2. Take one of our online courses about practical and popular topics in education.

  3. Bring me to your school, district, or event to speak. I love working with educators!

What did you think of today's newsletter?

Choose the best fit for you ...

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.